Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Using Easy Essay Samples

Using Easy Essay SamplesIf you are trying to find easy essay samples, then you have to be ready to find something that can help you. You can find anything on the Internet, so take some time to choose the right essay samples. The first thing you need to consider is the ease of using the document in question. This should be answered with ease of comprehension and for those who are writing their college essays, there are a lot of different styles that you should look for when searching.This style is generally used for individuals who write and those who are especially good at writing articles. Using such essays as sample, you will be able to pick up what works and what does not. You also will be able to have fun because it will be written in a way that you can understand, as well as have fun writing it.If you are looking for easy essay samples that can be readily used by everyone, then you are in luck. You can find them in the form of blog posts, articles, and more. You will be able to get a quick reference of what you can use for your essay if you do some research, and also how easy it is to understand.Another thing you will want to take a look at if you are looking for easy essay samples is an essay from a current college student who has written a very short essay for them to help them with their essay. It is a great way to start and will help you understand what they are trying to say.For those who are really trying to figure out how to use easy essay samples, you will want to think about searching for that right essay that will be very easy to read and easy to use. You will have to consider the level of what the essay will be, which is why you have to think about what is going to be on the test and how you are going to score. The more complex the essay, the more you need to know about it, so you want to make sure you are using the right one.No matter what essay you are going to choose to find easy essay samples, be sure to give some time to look through as man y different styles as you can. This is the best way to help you find the one that will be effective.You should be able to find something that is helpful, simple, and very easy to use in order to help you on your quick article writing. This is a great place to start and can be a great way to help you write well.

Friday, May 15, 2020

Machiavelli as a Humanist - 1886 Words

A humanist is defined as one who is concerned with the interests and welfare of humans. Niccolo’ Machiavelli can be thought of as a humanist. Although opinions on this differ greatly depending on whom you speak with. Machiavelli’s life consists of so many examples and lessons that he has learned throughout his life. Through my paper, I intend to examine his perception of morality based on his political writings and life experiences. Niccolo’ Machiavelli was born on May 3, 1469 and died in 1527. Although we do not know much about his early life, we know that he was educated according to the humanist ideals of the Renaissance. He was trained at an early age by a latin teacher named Paolo da Ronciglione. He spent his youth in the†¦show more content†¦He used the term virtu’ in his book â€Å"The Art of War† which is a dialogue on military affairs. It describes the great ability of a general who is able to adapt to various battlefield conditions as they present themselves. It is said that the most vilified of political thinkers is also the one of whom it has been said that he concentrated all his real and supreme values in what he called virtu’. 6 What he meant by this was that a prince would have to develop a different psychology than what he is used to. The â€Å"new† prince is â€Å"prepared to vary his conduct as the winds of fortune and changing circumstances constrain him and not deviate from the right conduct if possible, but be should be capable of entering upon a path of wrong doing when it becomes necessary†. 7 Some ninety years ago Villari said that Machiavelli always use the word virtue in the sense of courage and energy both for good and evil. To Christian virtue in its more general meaning, he rather applied the term goodness, and felt much less admiration for it than for the pagan virtue that was always fruitful of glory. 2 Although the political life of Niccolo Machiavelli is quite interesting when analyzing his views on government and religion, his personal life and experiences were equally a representation of him as a humanist. He was described by some as never offensive and possessing a genuine understanding of human weakness. Niccolo formed a quiteShow MoreRelatedMachiavelli: The Renaissance’s Anti-Humanist2452 Words   |  10 PagesDonation of Constantine, Niccolà ² Machiavelli projected his ideas of fraudulence into sixteenth century Italian society by suggesting that rulers could only maintain power through propaganda, as seen with the success of Ferdinand of Aragon in Spain circa 1490. Today, the coined term Machiavellian refers to duplicity in either politics or self-advancement. Unlike most philosophers of the sixteenth century, Machiavelli wrote from the perspective of an anti-Humanist; he criticized not only the ClassicsRead More Comparing the Secular Humanist, Machiavelli and th e Religious Humanist, Erasmus3218 Words   |  13 PagesComparing the Secular Humanist, Machiavelli and the Religious Humanist, Erasmus One can often identify a persons political, religious or cultural orientation by his or her reaction to certain words. A case in point is the expression secular humanism. For religious conservatives those words sum up much of what is wrong with contemporary society. Websters Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary gives several definitions for humanism, a word which made its appearance in 1832. The first is a devotionRead MoreComparing Machiavelli And The Prince902 Words   |  4 PagesDave Licause European History Machiavelli and the Prince Machiavelli is one of the greatest and most widely recognized humanist authors. Machiavelli received a classic middle class renaissance humanist education. The Prince most apparent departure from the humanist narrative is the separation of politics and ethics. Machiavelli, in the Prince, creates the first modern political treatise. Machiavelli had an interest to practically deal with the creation of a new government in Florence by the Medici’sRead MoreAnalysis Of The Prince By Niccolo Machiavelli1192 Words   |  5 Pagesthere was a strive to modernize the world into human outlook which focused on the ability of humans to act and not blindly follow a religious plan. Humanists believed God had given humanity options and potential, and humanist thinkers had to act to succeed and make the most of this: it was a duty to be the best. Niccolo Machiavelli, an Italian Humanist, wrote  The Prince  as a guide for his own prince, Lorenzo De Medici, to promote himself into the po litical arena of Italy. He analyzed power and theRead MoreMachiavelli And Humanism930 Words   |  4 Pageswhom he hopes to regain a political position after shifts in the unstable Florentine republic. Machiavelli argues that people, particularly political leaders, should have flexible moral codes so that they can bend them when necessary. For him, betraying allies or betraying one’s own beliefs is acceptable, even beneficial, because it aids in making tough political decisions to maintain power. Machiavelli would not feel the need to fully align with one societal group, like Dante did with the White GuelphsRead MoreThe Balance Of Rationality And Spirituality1241 Words   |  5 Pagesaffected Renaissance Europe on every level: individual, societal and spiritual thus it is the most crucial feature of this period. With such emphasis on the cultivation of man’s God given faculties, a new form of liberal study was thus part of this humanist impulse through a liberal education during the Renaissance. Petrus Paulus Vergerius outlined the power of man’s knowledge in affecting the world, which is a slight move away from the belief that fortune and God ordered the universe and indefinitelyRead MoreMachiavelli and Rousseaus Views on Human Nature and Government546 Words   |  3 PagesMachiavelli and Rousseau, both significant philosophers, had distinctive views on human nature and the relationship between the government and the governed. Their ideas were radical at the time and remain influential in government today. Their views on human nature and government had some common points and some ideas that differed. Machiavelli’s views were drastically different from other humanists at his time. He strongly promoted a secular society and felt morality was not necessaryRead MoreMachiavellis View on Human Nature Essay1454 Words   |  6 PagesMachiavelli’s View on Human Nature The author, Niccolà ³ Machiavelli, is different from other humanists in his time, because his view on the nature of man contradicts what most humanists believed. Humanists of that time believed that individuals played an important role to the well-being of the state, and that â€Å"†¦ they also believed in classicism’s basic tenet that human nature is inherently rational and good† (Western Humanities, pg. 343). Machiavelli, however, had a negative view on human nature and madeRead MorePetrarch and Machiavelli Essay809 Words   |  4 PagesThoughts on Ruling: Machiavelli VS. Petrarch In the fourteenth century, the humanist philosopher Francesco Petrarch wrote a letter entitled How a Ruler Ought to Govern His Sate. Nearly a century later, another philosopher by the name of Niccolo Machiavelli wrote a book about governing, The Prince. The two documents show many similarities in content and theme. While the two wrote in similar subject matter, it is clear that these philosophers possess distinctly different viewpoints on how a rulerRead MoreSir Thomas More s Utopia And Niccolo Machiavelli s The Prince1454 Words   |  6 Pagesâ€Å"rebirth† was a cultural movement that accompanied the passage of Europe from the Middle Ages to modern times. Niccolo Machiavelli was an Italian civic humanist, historian, diplomat, philosopher, politician, and writer during the Renaissance. He applied the values of the Renaissance to his political treatise, The Prince. Sir Thomas was an English lawyer, philosopher, statesman, and humanist during the Renaissance. He employed the ideals of the Renaissance to his Latin dialogue, Utopia. Both The Prince

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

My Educational Experience With Therapy / Psychology

When one decides to become a counselor, there are several aspects to learn to become a well-rounded therapist. One of those aspects is gaining knowledge of the various theories and central concept of the counseling profession. Additional facets to learn is how to create a therapeutic environment for the client. Furthering on these aspects, we have to learn to interact with clients to be better able to help them in different areas of their life including social and professional. Final features to learn about counseling is how clients view their own life to produce more therapeutic opportunities. Throughout this paper I will discuss these various features of counseling. While we go through our education to become a therapist there are several theories and concepts to learn. At first, I didn’t want to become a counselor when I started college. However as I gained knowledge about the profession I began to develop a love of everything that it is about. In my educational experience with therapy/psychology we have discussed on our views of concepts in counseling. These discussions always have me thinking of my own life and experiences in the field. When it comes to counseling my personal opinion is, I believe that counseling is a noble field to get into for a career. I view therapy as highly effective in assisting individuals through their difficulties. I also consider it to be important for just basic living. Counseling assists us to understand ourselves and it gives variousShow MoreRelatedApplication Essay: Applying for Specialist Program in School Psychology932 Words   |  4 Pageseveryday carrying someone else’s problem on my shoulders, officially making it my problem to fix. I reinforced my madness by telling my self that this phase in my life will pass. The irony of it is that life passed me by as I disappeared in the mist of trying to â€Å"fix† someone else’s problem. Each one of us has our own life challenges that we face every day. Mine has been with the duties of the heart. My fiancà © has fallen into the abyss of drugs, and it has made my personal life very difficult to fully liveRead MoreFamily Psychology ( Therapy ) Essay1016 Words   |  5 PagesFamily Psychology (Therapy) Michael Daniel Weigant School of Professional Counseling Lindsey Wilson College Author Note 716 Kingdom Come Drive. Cumberland Ky. 40823 Mikeweigant@yahoo.com Abstract This research paper is going to look at a career in family therapy. It is going to discuss some of the things a psychologist does with their patients. The type of pay they receive. The paper is also going to discuss a few different options people have with education. FinallyRead MoreAttaining My Ph.D. in Clinical Psychology856 Words   |  4 Pagesremote village in the Peruvian Andes conducting art therapy with prisoners when I realized this was the most meaningful experience of my life, and it should not be. The study and practice of psychology are the place where my humanitarian and intellectual interests align. I am applying to the clinical psychology program to fulfil the training I need to continue to make meaningful contributions to society and also contribute to the field of psychology through research. A family illness that is now happilyRead MoreThe Topic Of Visual Arts929 Words   |  4 PagesNicole Pachulski N01073037 PSYC 1000-OYD TOPIC: Visual Arts Topic description: For my Psychology Journal, I have chosen the topic of visual arts. I have been involved in various types of art since I can remember, but drawing and painting are definitely my favourite hobbies and creative outlets. I have experimented with numerous styles of art in my lifetime in order to develop a sense of my own style, and have learned that I enjoy watercolours and mixed media the most. Psychological schools ofRead MoreMy Life I Have Not Always Chosen The Right Career Path1604 Words   |  7 PagesIn my journal through life I have not always chosen the right career path. When I was in high school I have no specific plan for the future. I started my family early; a single mother at age 18 with no job and nowhere to live. Over the next 3 years I eventually found a job and applied for an apartment. After working 23 years in manufacturing I became weary with life. I realized that an education was the best choice for my future. However, I’ve always had an interest for teaching others and a passionRead MoreCareer Research Paper : Occupational Therapist Assistant1131 Words   |  5 PagesCareer Research Paper: Occupational Therapist Assistant The Psychology Major’s Handbook by Tara L. Kuther gives a list of positions that Psychology majors can obtain with a bachelor’s degree. This list is helpful because only one-fourth of psychology majors go to graduate school immediately following graduation (Kuther, 2015, p. 170). Within this list, the occupation that caught my eye was that of an Occupational Therapist. Though one cannot be an Occupational Therapist with only a bachelor’s degreeRead MorePsychology Theories And Techniques Of Counseling1262 Words   |  6 Pagescounselor then,† is often the question I hear after telling people I am majoring in psychology. This used to bother me. It bothered me because it comes off as people not being aware of all the other career paths a person can pursue with a psychology major. That is, until Theories and Techniques of Counseling†¦ Before I became a psychology major, I was studying social work. Even though I couldn’t seem to find my niche within the major, I was grateful for the introduction to empathy and aspectsRead MoreAnalysis of the Class Orientation to Psychology Essay1371 Words   |  6 PagesOrientation to Psychology class my first semester at Seton Hall University was probably the most beneficial part of my college experience thus far. Although I came into college confidently declared as a psychology major, I didn’t really know what this meant or entailed prior to taking this course. This course taught me valuable information about myself, about the field of psychology, and about how I can mold those two together. All that I’ve learned this semester in Orientation to Psychology helped meRead MoreCareer Of Marriage And Family Therapy1553 Words   |  7 PagesCareer in Marriage and Family Therapy Marriage and Family Therapy is a particularly interesting area of Psychological study. This field offers adults and children resources to help cope with potentially damaging psychological issues within the family unit. Marriage and Family therapist offer an opportunity for spouse to reconcile their differences, while helping children understand the family hardships and issues. Marriage and Family therapist help couples, families and groups that deal with issuesRead MoreCareer Research Paper: Clinical Psychology894 Words   |  4 PagesCareer Research Paper: Clinical Psychology Clinical psychology is just one of the many subfields that psychology has to offer. Those who choose to enter clinical psychology aim to help people with addiction, emotional stress, mental illness, or any other type of mental problems. Knowing what a clinical psychologist does in their practice is important in understanding their profession. A clinical psychologists education is the most prominent part of their career; without it, they cannot be considered

Tuesday, May 5, 2020

African and Carribean Dance Essay Example For Students

African and Carribean Dance Essay Within African and Caribbean dance there are many similar stylistic features stemming from various places either being the background from where the dance evolved from or cultural significances. Within the essay there will be discussions about the movement language of the two styles. Cultural significance and the stylistic features of the dance will also be discussed. The two styles of dance from African that will be discussed are Muchongoyo and Kinka. Caribbean will be focussing on the Kumina and Dinkie-Minie. Originating from Congo in West Africa is the traditional ritual, Kumina. According to Carty, Kumina practitioners believe there are three ranks of spirits, this dance calls to the the Ancestral rank. The dance calls on the spirits to fulfil their wishes of good and evil, and is performed at different events including marriages, engagement, births, deaths and for political or social success. Also as stated by Carty it can be used to perform evil tasks such as making someone ill or wishing bad luck on their family. This is possible because the ancestors they call upon were also alive at one point so share their feelings on justice and revenge. (Carty, 1988. Pg 20-21) The ritual commonly begins at sundown and ends at sunrise and different colours are worn for different ceremonies. They dance round a central pole, also dressed in particular colours for the ritual. Within the group of dancers is also a King or Queen dancer who is the leader, this person will normally either be the best dancer in the group or will be the most knowledgable in the rituals and customs. Cary, 1988. Pg 21) The Kumina has two main drums that are used, namely the Kbandu and the Playing Cast. The Kbandu is the male drum which is made from the skin of a ewe, stretched and sprayed with White Rum until the required pitch is acquired. The leading drum is the Playing cast, the female drum which speaks throughout the dance and leads the dancers through their breaks and motions. One of the main movements within the Kumina use footwork and the pelvis. The feet move across the floor in a movement known as Inching. Carty, 1988. Pg 22) The body is grounded with the knees bent and the ribcage rotates. Dinkie-Minie is a dance originating from Jamaica. The ritual that takes place during this dance is called ‘The Set Up and the Ninth-Nights’. The Dinkie-Minie is performed to celebrate the death of someone, it is a ritual where a community will come together and support the persons family whilst helping them to celebrate that their deceased love one has moved to a better place. (Carty, 1988. Pg32) The spirits journey begins on the Ninth Night where it leaves for the better place, however in the days leading up to that, after the sadness at the beginning, the relatives then sing and dance to rejoice about the deceased being in a better place. The drums and instruments used in the Dinkie-Minie are the Katta sticks milk tins, graters and shakes but the instrument necessary for the dance is the Tamboo a drum which is cylindrical. Again like the Kumina the Dinkie-Minie is based on strong pelvic rotations, and knees that almost knock together. Dinkie has a very spiritual side and having a wake of this style is crucial the the african culture within it. With both these dances being rituals they are very similar. They both have an ancestral side whether it be sending the loved ones up to the ancestors or calling upon the ancestors to grant their wishes. One of West Africa’s traditional dance and music forms is the Kinka. The style is of recent origins in the 1940s and gives a youthful inclination of dance throughout the song. .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .postImageUrl , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .centered-text-area { min-height: 80px; position: relative; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:hover , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:visited , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:active { border:0!important; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .clearfix:after { content: ""; display: table; clear: both; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef { display: block; transition: background-color 250ms; webkit-transition: background-color 250ms; width: 100%; opacity: 1; transition: opacity 250ms; webkit-transition: opacity 250ms; background-color: #95A5A6; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:active , .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:hover { opacity: 1; transition: opacity 250ms; webkit-transition: opacity 250ms; background-color: #2C3E50; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .centered-text-area { width: 100%; position: relative ; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .ctaText { border-bottom: 0 solid #fff; color: #2980B9; font-size: 16px; font-weight: bold; margin: 0; padding: 0; text-decoration: underline; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .postTitle { color: #FFFFFF; font-size: 16px; font-weight: 600; margin: 0; padding: 0; width: 100%; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .ctaButton { background-color: #7F8C8D!important; color: #2980B9; border: none; border-radius: 3px; box-shadow: none; font-size: 14px; font-weight: bold; line-height: 26px; moz-border-radius: 3px; text-align: center; text-decoration: none; text-shadow: none; width: 80px; min-height: 80px; background: url(https://artscolumbia.org/wp-content/plugins/intelly-related-posts/assets/images/simple-arrow.png)no-repeat; position: absolute; right: 0; top: 0; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:hover .ctaButton { background-color: #34495E!important; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .centered-text { display: table; height: 80px; padding-left : 18px; top: 0; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef-content { display: table-cell; margin: 0; padding: 0; padding-right: 108px; position: relative; vertical-align: middle; width: 100%; } .u9fa9a6096c270d4410b9534fd58212ef:after { content: ""; display: block; clear: both; } READ: Dance-Christianity EssayThe dance is not so much a spiritual piece like the Dinkie-Minie and the Kumina, it is more of a social and entertaining style. (Gbolonyo, K. 2012) As Gbolonya says â€Å"Short repetitive metaphoric phrases are the norms of this communal entertainment. † This explains about how the piece really follows a structure of repetition as the dancer initiates different movements. The drummer is in direct control of how to piece moves forward as they give the call on the drum so the dancer can change to a different movement, of come back to the original movement to join the rest of the dancers. The drum signals also help dancers keep the time and rhythm as the dance progresses. Gbolonyo also states that the Kinka is used more for a political statement and is well crafted to do so. The Muchongoyo is a dance that originates from Zimbabwe and the Nguni-speaking groups of South Africa. As a dance, Muchongoyo falls into the category of Indlamu, a military drill exercise created to install discipline into the men of the zulu nation and mental prepare them for war. (Asante, KW. 2000 Pg 68 ) The drum which is now used for Muchongoyo is a modern variation on the traditional drums. Women are mainly the musicians in this dance playing the hashes and sing alongside the men, the drum accompany the dance and whistles are used to accent the stomps in the piece. (Welsh, K. 2004 Pg109) Muchongoyo is a powerful dance and produces that much force and energy that the performer really starts to mix and make one with the powerful dance and music. â€Å"A. M Opokuexpressed the idea: dance and music should be so closely connected that ‘one can see the music and hear the dance. † (Sieber. 1986 Pg 234) In the performance of Muchongoyo, the dance itself must work to personify the sound and really make it come as a whole together for the audience to feel that powerful involvement. ( Asante, KW. 2000 Pg 65) The costumes also play a part in the making of such a strong dance. They are neo- traditional and try to imitate as closely to their forefathers costume choices as they can. The men have short skirts with shorts and wear ostrich feathers in their hair. Caribbean and African dance clearly have strong roots and a shared cultural history. The powerful music styles make them stand out from other traditional styles in the world and they share the same instrument, the percussion. The main thing that keeps them so traditional and exciting to watch is that even as time moves forward and they develop the styles always stick to their traditional roots which you can follow all the back to their African descent. Making them very entertaining and educational almost to watch. Bibliography: Carty, H. (1988.) Folk dances of Jamaica: An Insight, United Kingdom: Distributed in the U.S.A. by Princeton Book Co. Gbolonyo , K., Music and Dance. Adams Habobo. Available at: http://www.adanuhabobo.com/musicdance.html . Jopling, C. Sieber, R., 1971. Art and Aesthetics in Primitive Societies: A Critical Anthology, United States: New York : Dutton, c1971. Welsh Asante, M. (2000.) Zimbabwe Dance 1st ed., Trenton: Africa World Press, Inc. Welsh-Asante, K. (2004.) African Dance (World of Dance), United States: Chelsea House Publications. Citations (Carty, 1988 Pg 20-21) (Carty, 1988 Pg 21) (Carty, 1988 Pg 22) (Carty, 1988 Pg 32 (Gbolongo, K. 2012) (Asante, KW. 2000 Pg 68) (Welsh, K. 2004 ph 109) (Sieber. 1986 pg 234) (Asante, KW. 2000 Pg 65)

Wednesday, April 15, 2020

Terryfying Event Essays - Auditory System, Ear, Eustachian Tube

Terryfying Event 50 to Deep but 50 to Shallow Scuba diving is something my dad loves to do, I like it to. It was no small suprise when my dad took me on a scuba trip the summer I got my scuba certification, I was 12. We went to Cozumel Mexico, and in case you did not know this is considered the diving capitol of the world. The only problem is that a lack of experience in any field, no matter how pretty the view is, can be terrifying. The dive itself was a easy drift dive (I say easy 4 years and 30 dives later) all you have to do was go down drift along look at the pretty fish and enjoy the ride while the boat hovers along above. This was no problem for the other people, as they got down. I on the other hand I had a head cold. [Before you can understand what this means you must first understand some basic principals. Water is heavier than air. The space inside your middle ear is filled with air, under normal conditions air flows slowly between your middle ear and pharynx, through your Eustachian tube. This movement of air equalizes pressure between you middle ear (tympanic cavity) and the atmosphere. As water is heavier than air, the pressure change is also heavier, meaning that above the water you can ascend or descend hundreds of feet before the pressure change becomes noticeable. Under the water however the change is much more dramatic, (this is rough and the figure changes as you get deeper or shallower) ergo, 500 in the air is equivalent to the pressure change of 20 in the water. Now, add on to this equation a head cold (the Eustachian tube is clogged with mucus) and the fact that I am a 12 year old inexperienced diver.] I got down all right, just like everyone else. For the first 50. I realized then that I could not equalize and there for could not descend further withought pain or serious ear damage. Picture me hanging there arms out like a sky diver looking down at the other people 50 below me, the boat 50 above me. It could have been the greatest thrill of my life flying along underwater, letting the current push me steadily along looking at the mountains of coral below me, sun glinting along the water surface above me. I was flying, the only problem was I did not want to be there right then. I wanted to either be up on the boat or down with the rest of the people. It was terrifying. Me cursing along 50 above 50 below, if I went up to they boat I thought I would have been called chicken, and would of ruined the dive for the other people. If I went down I could have hurt my ears badly. So I tried unsuccessfully to tell the people I could not equalize. Picture me now terry eyed, folting 50 above them, looking up at my siliout as I flapped my arms stupidly, pointing at my head. They either understood or not, but I was still floating along terrified, remembering the shark week on discovery channel, wishing I was any where but where I was, suspended in the crystal clear blue water, crying my head off with no one to hear me. I eventually (only about 10 min, but it felt like eternity!) was able to equalize and joined them at the bottom, red eyed , but happy. When asked about it on the surface I said my mask had leaked and the salt water had bothered my eyes. And as to them not coming up to see what was wrong, the dive master said huskily Only one way to learn boy, got to do it your self. English Essays

Thursday, March 12, 2020

Joy Harjo - Feminist, Indigenous Poet and Activist

Joy Harjo - Feminist, Indigenous Poet and Activist Born: May 9, 1951, Tulsa, OklahomaOccupation: Poet, Musician, Performer, ActivistKnown for: Feminism and American Indian activism, particularly through artistic expression Joy Harjo has been a significant voice in the rejuvenation of indigenous culture. As a poet and musician, she was influenced by the activism of the American Indian Movement (AIM) during the 1970s. Joy Harjos poetry and music often speak of individual womens experiences while examining larger cultural concerns and Native American  traditions. Heritage Joy Harjo was born in Oklahoma in 1951 and is a member of the Mvskoke, or Creek, Nation. She is of part Creek and part Cherokee descent, and her ancestors include a long line of tribal leaders. She took the last name Harjo from her maternal grandmother. Artistic Beginnings Joy Harjo attended the Institute of American Indian Arts high school in Santa Fe, New Mexico. She performed in an indigenous drama troupe and studied painting. Although one of her early band teachers did not allow her to play the saxophone because she was a girl, she picked it up later in life and now performs music solo and with a band. Joy Harjo had her first child at age 17 and worked odd jobs as a single mother to support her children. She then enrolled in the University of New Mexico and received her bachelors degree in 1976. She received her MFA from the prestigious Iowa Writers Workshop. Joy Harjo began writing poetry in New Mexico, inspired by the American Indian activist movement. She is recognized for her poetic subject matter that includes feminism and Indian justice. Books of Poetry Joy Harjo has called poetry the most distilled language. Like many other feminist poets writing in the 1970s, she experimented with language, ​form and structure. She uses her poetry and voice as part of her responsibility to her tribe, to women, and to all people. Joy Harjos poetic works include: The Last Song (1975), her first chapbook, a small collection of poems in which she began questioning oppression, including the colonization of Native land. What Moon Drove Me To This? (1979), Joy Harjos first full-length collection of poetry. She Had Some Horses (1983), considered one of her classics it explores the oppression of women, but also their spiritual lives and triumphant awakenings. In Mad Love and War (1990), an examination of both personal relationships and societal struggles of Native Americans. The Woman Who Fell From the Sky(1994), which won the Oklahoma Book Award in Poetry. How We Became Human: New and Selected Poems 1975-2001, a collection that looks back over her three-decade career as a poet. The poetry of Joy Harjo is rich with ​imagery, symbols, and landscapes. What do the horses mean? is one of her readers most frequently asked questions. In reference to meaning, she writes, Like most poets I dont really know what my poems or the stuff of my poetry means exactly. Other Work Joy Harjo was an editor of the anthology Reinventing the Enemys Language: Contemporary Native American Womens Writings of North America. It contains poetry, memoir, and prayer by Native women from more than fifty nations. Joy Harjo is also a musician; she sings and plays the saxophone and other instruments, including flute, ukulele, and percussion. She has released music and spoken word CDs. She has performed as a solo artist and with bands such as Poetic Justice. Joy Harjo sees music and poetry as growing together, although she was a published poet before she publicly performed music. She has questioned why the academic community would want to confine poetry to the page when most poetry in the world is sung. Joy Harjo continues to write and perform in festivals and theaters. She has won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Native Writers Circle of the Americas and the William Carlos Williams award from the Poetry Society of America, among other prizes and fellowships. She has taught as a lecturer and professor at multiple universities throughout the Southwest United States.

Tuesday, February 25, 2020

A Different Conception of an Ideal Government in the Case of a Hobbess Research Paper

A Different Conception of an Ideal Government in the Case of a Hobbess Civil Society - Research Paper Example Hobbes acknowledges the value of freedom or liberty as something that cannot be gotten in nature but only possible in civil society. However, the insufficiency with this definition is well exemplified when discussing the importance of positive or civil liberty that exists in any civil society as espoused by Rousseau. Rousseau argues that idea Hobbes idea creates negative liberty or civil society that is typified by ‘unlawful chains’ that compels people to conform to a system they actually do not agree with. Another criticism against Hobbes's state of nature relates to the existence of man as pre-social. Rousseau wonders how a man would be considered pre-social yet in the state of nature, most qualities attributed to him are social in nature. Rousseau describes the aspect of pride as one that can only take place in a social environment. It must be understood, nonetheless, that both of these two scholars base their arguments on men’s qualities that are interpersonal in nature. According to Rousseau, it is misleading when Hobbes claims that the life of man is solitary and yet he has inferred used the concept of neighbourliness where people are not likely to get satisfied with resources at their disposal, because they are envious about what their neighbours have. Hobbes supports a government that is headed by a ruler or king. In this case, people would confide their power or sovereignty in the hands of kings as a way of being more resolute and consistent in exercising political authority. Furthermore, Hobbes indicates that once the people have surrendered their absolute power to their ruler or king, they do not have any right to rebel against his wishes.

Saturday, February 8, 2020

The cons and pros of fair value versus historical cost accounting and Essay

The cons and pros of fair value versus historical cost accounting and deprival value - Essay Example Financial reporting requires extremely accurate form of measurement to deliver information to lenders and shareholders who are obliged to know how wisely their money is being spent (Barth 2007). Van Zijl & Whittington (2006) reveal that the current form of measurement is increasingly emphasizing on the use of current value to replace historical costs. The principle reason behind the establishment of accounting standards was to ensure that financial information produced by organizations are accurate, reliable, complete, timely and relevant. In addition, accounting standards would ensure that organizations not only demonstrate accountability but also maintain it while meeting statutory reporting requirements such that the stakeholders are accounted for organizational financial performance to support decision making (Cooper 2007). Currently, the measurement basis for measuring amounts in financial statements includes among others historical cost, amortized historical cost, fair value an d value in use. This paper evaluates the pros and cons of fair value versus historical cost accounting and deprival value. 1.0. Current cost should be used in financial reporting Historical cost accounting works well for liabilities that are not traded; representation of liabilities for contractual business obligations like long term deferred revenue, and other complex issues of life insurance and pension liabilities (Macve 2010). However, more emphasis is given to existing stakeholders and stewardship compared to service to investors in capital market and usefulness in economic decisions emphasized by fair value approach which replaces historical costs (Whittington 2008). Historical cost accounting and deprival value characterize the conceptual framework of ASB while fair value is a recent concept that is available only for the last 20 years in FASB, the IASB and the ASB and is increasingly applied in financial reporting. Penman (2007) argues that while historical cost accounting h as been used in items whose measurement using fair value would be unreliable or expensive to quantify, fair value is considered to be informative given that it is applied within mixed measurement system. Defining and measuring current value Fair value is defined by Penman (2007) as the amount that would be obtained from selling an asset or the amount that would be given away in defrayal of a liability in a transaction deemed as methodical and between wiling and well-informed participants. As a result, fair value accounting information reflects the future and not the past, events or transactions (Whittington 2008; Barth 2006). Barth (2007) reveals that the measurement decisions are made by standard setters through focusing on the application of the definitions of elements in financial reporting and the qualitative attributes of accounting information on the basis of financial reporting objective. The use of qualitative attributes is intended at recognizing the desired measurement cha racteristics while the financial reporting objective brings out the context within which the evaluation of measurement will be evaluated (Barth 2007). 2.0. Importance of deprival value concept Van Zijl and Whittington (2006) argue that deprival value is the implying measurement at substitute cost for an asset that has a recoverable amount superior than the costs to be incurred for replacement. The value of an asset is restricted to replacement costs since the loss incurred in losing an asset

Thursday, January 30, 2020

Objectives Essay Example for Free

Objectives Essay 1. Goal is a Long-term end toward which programs or activities are directed. Goals are general and include no date of completion. Organizations are usually formed with the aim of achieving specific goals. These goals usually determine the direction that the organization will take over the long term and are not always very specific. Goals of organizations operating in the private sector generally revolve around the maximization of profits for the owners. However, some organizations also have other objectives that they may pursue in the short term. Objective is a specific, measurable, intermediate end that is achievable, sometimes measurable, and marks progress towards a goal. Objectives are action-orientated statements demonstrating the means to achieve a goal. Objectives often serve as the principles of setting up policies and evaluating the performance. An effective way to set objectives is to follow the well known acronym SMART. A SMART objective is specific, measurable, achievable, realistic and time scaled. An objective that follows SMART is more likely to succeed because it is clear (specific) so you know exactly what needs to be achieved. You can tell when it has been achieved (measurable) because you have a way to measure completion. A SMART objective is likely to happen because it is an event that is achievable. Before setting a SMART objective relevant factors such as resources and time were taken into account to ensure that it is realistic. Finally the timescale element provides a deadline which helps people focus on the tasks required to achieve the objective. The timescale element stops people postponing task completion. Policy is generally principles creating the course of action or way in which programs and activities are coordinated to achieve an identified goal or objective, supporting the action of the objectives. Scotia Airways is actually doing well at setting up goals, objectives and policies, it has set up several good goals: 1. Consumer goal is pertaining to the customer, Scotia Airways aims to provide exceptional value for money, unparalleled comfort and convenience to its passengers, every time they are on board; 2. Operational goals are the short-term tactics designed to achieve the company’s long-term strategy. The management team within Scotia have worked meticulously in planning and evaluating their services to ensure that customer focus in the primary driver of business success; 3. Product goals are related to the quality, amount and service. This kind of goal is really important to Scotia Airways because they are doing a lot of work on service. They now offer several value added services. 4. Secondary goals. After the above important goals are achieved in the future, Scotia Airways may have to setup this kind of goal such as ameliorate their relationship between staffs and management estates. The investors in Scotia Airways have set an ambitious program for expansion over the next five years to include long haul destinations, it’s a very important objective for Scotia Airways. Scotia Airways has a wide ranging reward policy. After finishing the supervision of work amounts, in sales apartment employee’s work performance increase an extra by 30% in a period of three months. By this way, Scotia Airways can motivate their staffs greatly. Organization In system theory, an open system is a system which continuously interacts with its environment or surroundings. The interaction can take the form of information, energy, or material transfers into or out of the system boundary, depending on the discipline which defines the concept. An open system is contrasted with the concept of an isolated system which exchanges neither energy, matter, nor information with its environment. The concept of an open system was formalized within a framework that enabled one to interrelate the organism, thermodynamics, and evolutionary theory. This concept was expanded upon with the advent of information theory and subsequently systems theory. Today the concept has its applications in the natural and social sciences. 3. Organizations have a formal structure which is the way that the organization is organized by those with responsibility for managing the organization. They create the formal structures that enable the organization to meet its stated objectives. Such as Marketing Department, Finance Department in Scotia Airways are all formal organizations. Actually Scotia Airways Co. is a formal organization. However, in the course of time an informal structure develops in most organizations which is based on the reality of day-to-day interactions between the members of the organization. This informal structure may be different from that which is set out on paper. Such as Scotia Airways may hold a party and employ some guards just for that party day. 4. Stakeholders are many different individuals or groups who affect or are affected by an organization. Stakeholders have an interest in a particular organization. External stakeholders: A party such as a customer, supplier, or lender that influences and is influenced by an organization but is not a member of it. Customers always enjoy better service. Since Scotia Airways’ major income is from its customers, it should change its service according to its customers’ demands. Internal Stakeholders: Individuals who reside inside the company as board members, executives, managers, employees, and trade unions and who benefit directly from their contributions to the growth of the company. In management estates, administrators always try to come up with better ideas making more profits for their companies and motivate their staffs to work harder. 5. Control often has an emotive connotation and is interpreted in a negative manner to suggest direction or command by the giving of orders. People may be suspicious of control systems and see them as emphasizing punishment, as an indication of authoritarian management and as a means of exerting pressure and maintaining discipline. In my opinion, since Scotia Airways doesn’t have many staffs right now and they are planning to expand their companies, I suggest they separate them into several groups and set up different objectives for each group. It’s also important to enhance motivation for staffs. They can hold some parties and informal organizations increasingly.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

National Geographic: Mysteries Underground :: essays research papers

National Geographic: Mysteries Underground   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  The video I reviewed was a National Geographic film called Mysteries Underground. This video was about extraordinary sites there are to see in underground caves. You traveled along with cave explorers and got to see all the beautiful untouched natural formations such as gypsum chandeliers, gnarled calcite columns, and jewel-like lakes. It showed and talked about all the careful proceders the cave explorers go through. It also talked about how the formations were made over such a long time.   Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  Ã‚  I learned many interesting things that would never seem possible. In the world's new most exotic ,Lechuguilla, cave there lied water so clean and clear that the cave explorers were forced to take all there clothes off before they swam acrossed it because the littlest dirt from any clothing would contaminate the pureness of the water. All the cave explorers are very cautious as to what they touch or where they step because some of the crystal formations are so fragile that the slightest vibration from a voice or a footstep could ruin millions of years of forming. In some parts of caves there are giant and very smooth ice formations that must be slid down very carefully because if they are not taken cautiously you will pick up to much speed while sliding and finally hit some kind of stone wall or something. One lady was not careful enough and boy did she pay. She was only a mile and a half or so in the cave and she broke her leg. It took almost five days to get who to the surface of the cave where she could be attended to. Also I found out that caves were much larger then I had originally thought. The largest cave now, Mammoth Cave, is over 200 miles long. And if you are exploring a cave being miles and miles from the entrance it is very important that you be careful because if you break your leg that far from the entrance it would probably take months to get you out safely. One safety precaution I learned was that when the explorers are traveling through cold water they must make sure they don't get their upperbody wet because that will cause them to freeze and get many sicknesses that are caused by the cold. One thing that I found interesting was that with the technology today you would think that we would have all the caves discovered and explored. We aren't close at all. In fact some caves have been being explored for years and there is still no end in sight.

Monday, January 13, 2020

Discuss Dickens treatment of the Victorian concept Essay

Discuss Dickens treatment of the Victorian concept of a gentleman in â€Å"Great Expectations†. Great Expectations is a novel about a boy called Pip and is of him growing up. One day a lawyer turns up at his sister’s house saying he has great expectations of him. A mysterious benefactor is giving money through the lawyer to Pip. Pip spends this money on what he thinks is becoming gentleman i. e. buying new furniture. However towards the end of the novel, when Pip finds out who his mysterious benefactor really is, he realises what a true gentleman is, a man of great principles and, a person with good manners. The novel is written by a much older Pip looking back at his life and being amazed at some of the mistakes he actually made. In Great Expectations, every character has there own opinion of what a real gentleman should be like. Pip, the main character of the novel; while he is still a teenager thinks that a real gentleman should have a lot of money, wear expensive clothes, know how to read and write and should go to a gentleman’s club. Whereas towards the end of the novel, when he is much more grown up, he realises that a true gentleman has good manners and is loyal. Dickens wrote this novel in many sections, which appeared in a newspaper, as the story became so famous the sections were collaborated into a novel. The novel was written in Victorian times, and like many of his novels they were about the times and the attitudes of all people of society. In this novel Dickens’s message to the Victorian people was that to be true gentleman one did not have to be of a rich family or have lots of money; but a true gentleman was loyal, treated others with great respect and had immaculate manners. In modern society we all think that a gentleman should treat others with respect, dress smartly, have excellent manners and be well behaved in public. However some people follow the literal meaning of a gentleman, being that the individual comes from a noble / family. In the novel Pip makes friends with Bently Drummel, who is a gentleman by definition of a dictionary, however what Pip realises a true gentleman is, Bently Drummel is not. There are many things about Bently Drummel that convinces the reader that Bently Drummel is not a true gentleman. Firstly for example he beats his wife, which a true gentleman would never do. A true gentleman would treat a lady with respect at all times. Bently Drummel is only a gentleman because he comes from a rich family his ethics are all completely wrong. He does not lens any money to his friends and he treats them as if they are inferior to him due to his riches. We all know that a true gentleman would never mistreat his friends and would always take great care f them. However on could also argue against these accusations, which are against Bently Drummel and say that he is in fact quite a gentleman. But that all depends upon what one defines a gentleman as. If one says that a gentleman is someone who is very arrogant, and loves himself and his riches more than anyone else then you could say that Bently Drummel is a gentleman However I think in modern day society, and what dickens is trying to put across to the reader is that it is not ones position in society; it is not ones riches that make him a gentleman but his humility, his kindness and his love for his neighbours. In the Victorians times, in which the paper is set, the book as we have said was published in small sections in the newspaper and middle and even lower class people would get to read these newspaper one way or another, so Dickens’s message is not just to the rich or just to the poor but to the whole society. Another example of gentleman by definition and a true gentleman is of Compeyson and Magwitch Magwitch is not rich nor of noble decent, but has good principles, he is Pips mysterious benefactor who sends him money in order for him to become a gentleman, although it may not seem so due to the events early in the novel but Magwitch is kind and caring, as he makes sure that Pip is well looked after. Having said that Magwitch is an escaped convict yet he earns money via an honest living from which he sends money to Pip. Compeyson was Magwitch’s accomplice who ran away with all the money and blamed all the crimes on Magwitch who served the time. Another thing against the Compeyson is that he had very bad principles compared to Magwitch. He conned Miss Havisham into loving him and then and on their wedding day he left Miss Havisham waiting at the altar and ran away with most of her money. This left Miss Havisham devastated she sat I a room with all the clocks stopped at the time of the wedding, she sat their in her wedding gown, very frail obviously because she was not eating well. A true gentleman could never do this to a women and this is highlighted in the way that Magwitch treats women. At the time in which this novel was released in its different sections, Dickens wanted to add enough suspense so that the reader wanted to read the next section and would remember all the previous sections. He added thrill and excitement to the section by introducing a new character relatively in each section, who has there own appearance, is from there own part of society i. e. working class, and who has their own different views and opinions. This is clearly apparent as each character has his own view, for example Estella a beautiful girl, who Pip is deeply in love with tells him that a gentleman dresses smart, has nice shoes and soft hands. IT is clear to see the message that dickens is broadcasting to the people through his novel and is seem to have an effect because it tells all the people the rich and poor that money does not make a gentleman in the eyes of the community so it is better to be happy with what one has and to have good principles and scruples.

Sunday, January 5, 2020

Learn About Natural Numbers, Whole Numbers, and Integers

In mathematics, youll see many references about numbers. Numbers can be classified into groups and initially it may seem somewhat perplexing but as you work with numbers throughout your education in math, they will soon become second nature to you. Youll hear a variety of terms being thrown at you and youll soon be using those terms with great familiarity yourself. You will also soon discover that some numbers will belong to more than one group. For instance, a prime number is also an integer and a whole number. Here is a breakdown of how we classify numbers: Natural Numbers Natural numbers are what you use when you are counting one to one objects. You may be counting pennies or buttons or cookies. When you start using 1,2,3,4 and so on, you are using the counting numbers or to give them a proper title, you are using the natural numbers. Whole Numbers Whole numbers are easy to remember. Theyre not fractions, theyre not decimals, theyre simply whole numbers. The only thing that makes them different than natural numbers is that we include the zero when we are referring to whole numbers. However, some mathematicians will also include the zero in natural numbers and Im not going to argue the point. Ill accept both if a reasonable argument is presented. Whole numbers are 1, 2, 3, 4, and so on. Integers Integers can be whole numbers or they can be whole numbers with a negative sign in front of them. Individuals often refer to integers as the positive and negative numbers. Integers are -4, -3, -2, -1, 0, 1, 2, 3, 4 and so on. Rational Numbers Rational numbers have integers AND fractions AND decimals. Now you can see that numbers can belong to more than one classification group. Rational numbers can also have repeating decimals which you will see be written like this: 0.54444444... which simply means it repeats forever, sometimes you will see a line drawn over the decimal place which means it repeats forever, instead of having a ...., the final number will have a line drawn above it. Irrational Numbers Irrational numbers dont include integers OR fractions. However, irrational numbers can have a decimal value that continues forever WITHOUT a pattern, unlike the example above. An example of a well known irrational number is pi which as we all know is 3.14 but if we look deeper at it, it is actually 3.14159265358979323846264338327950288419.....and this goes on for somewhere around 5 trillion digits! Real Numbers Here is another category where some other of the number classifications will fit. Real numbers include natural numbers, whole numbers, integers, rational numbers and irrational numbers. Real numbers also include fraction and decimal numbers. In summary, this is a basic overview of the number classification system, as you move to advanced math, you will encounter complex numbers. Ill leave it that complex numbers are real and imaginary.